The Republic and State of Geneva is one of the 26 cantons of Switzerland. The Republic of Geneva was proclaimed in 1541 under John Calvin and given a constitution (Édits civils) in 1543. It joined the Swiss Confederation in 1815 as the 22nd canton. The constitution of the canton  was established in 1847 and has, since then, been amended several times. The Canton of Geneva encompasses 45 municipalities.

The Republic and State of Geneva are actively following and supporting digital policy developments in the canton. The government is positioning itself as the international cybersecurity capital.

Under the ‘Digital Geneva’ strategy, the State wishes to turn itself into a driver of transformation which will enhance digital policies for the empowerment of its citizens.

The Republic and State of Geneva is a member of the Geneva Internet Platform's Steering Committee.

The Geneva Internet Platform is an initiative of the Swiss authorities


Members of the Steering Committee are FDFA, OFCOM and the Canton of Geneva

Scroll to Top